Return to Our School


The governors are responsible for the overall direction and effective management of the school, and for providing the best possible education for the pupils, whilst acting within the framework set by legislation. The Governing Body is therefore involved in formulating and setting policies and determining strategies. Governors are not however expected to take detailed decisions about the day-to-day running of the school. The Headteacher is responsible for the internal management and organisation of the school and its staff.

Wheatcroft governing body has up to 11 members: 3 elected parent governors, 1 elected staff governor, 1 governor appointed by the local education authority (LEA), 5 governors co-opted from the schools community and the Head Teacher.

Current Governors

Rachael Adler
Peter Apostolos- Vice-chair
Gemma Dienel – Staff Governor
John Drewery
Daniel Hewitt – Co-Opted Governor
Richard Houldsworth
Debbie Miller – Head Teacher
Judith Sparks – Chair
David Suddick

Summary of Governors’ Responsibilities:

Name of Governor Category of Governor Date of Appointment & Expiry Relevant Interests Attendance at FGB Meetings 18/19 Attendance at FGB Meetings 19/20 Curriculum Subject Linked to
Rachael Adler Parent 04/12/2017-03/12/2021 7/7 5/5 Science




Peter Apostolos Co-Opted 15/05/2019 – 07/05/2023 Some paid premises related work

Husband of a member of staff

6/7 5/5 Health & Safety

Learning Outside the classroom

Elaine Archer Co-Opted 08/05/2015 – 2017 Mother of a pupil
Robert Bexon Parent 18/10/2013 – 17/10/2017 Father of pupils
Gemma Dienel Staff 09/20-09/23 Paid employee
John Drewery Co-Opted 15/05/2019 – 05/05/2023 Husband of a member of staff 5/7 5/5 Humanities (History, Geography, RE)


Rebecca Gajewski Staff 06/2019 – 07/2020 Paid employee 1/1 5/5
Daniel Hewitt Co-Opted 10/20-10/24
Richard Houldsworth Parent 04/12/2017 – 03/12/2021 Father of pupils 7/7 5/5 Computing


Debbie Miller Headteacher Continual from 01/09/2017 Paid Employee 6/7 5/5
Alison Morris Co-Opted Stepped down 2018 Mother of a member of staff
Deborah Roberts LA Governor August 2019-November 2019 0/1 PHSE and Wellbeing
Judith Sparks Co-opted 9/10/2019-8/10/2023
David Suddick 2019-2023 1/1 3/5 Pupil Premium

PE inc Sports Premium

Angela Thornton Co-opted 08/05/2015 – 07/05/2019 Mother of pupil 3/5
Jenny Turner Co-opted 01/01/2018 – 09/2020 6/7 5/5 Safeguarding



Pupil Premium

Paula Waller Staff 24/02/2015 – 23/02/2019 Paid employee 5/6
Yvonne Wright Co-opted 15/09/2018 – 09/2020 Mother of pupil 6/7 5/5

Key:  FGB   = Full Governing Body

NOTE: All meetings are now Full Governing Body Meetings, which all Governors are required to attend . From time to time smaller Working Groups are set up to address specific issues and/or projects such as Rebranding, Major Building projects etc.

For more information about any of the Governors, please follow the links on the right.

Reports from the Governors


“Everyone is friendly and there is a kind atmosphere around you.”
Year 6 student, January 2014

John Drewery

My 3 children all attended Wheatcroft School between 26 and 13 years ago and my wife has worked in the school firstly, on a voluntary …

Peter Apostolos

I have been a Governor at Wheatcroft School for a number of years. Both my daughters attended the school and are now doing very well …

Rachael Adler

I am just beginning my third year as a Parent Governor and have loved every aspect of the role, and the opportunity it gives me …

Richard Houldsworth

I am enjoying being a Parent Governor linked to subjects that I feel I can contribute from a strategic perspective. I feel lucky that I …